top of page

Greater Cleveland Sports Awards Celebrate Best of Cleveland Sports

Special moments take center stage at the Sports Awards

The 16th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards presented by Medical Mutual and FirstMerit honored the best of Cleveland sports Thursday Jan. 28 at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. Heisman Trophy winner and Super Bowl MVP Desmond Howard – a graduate of Cleveland St. Joseph’s High School – hosted a sell-out crowd of over 1,200.

The event is the primary annual fundraiser for the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission. The Sports Commission, a 501c(3) non-profit, aims to improve the economy, image and quality of life in Greater Cleveland by attracting, managing and creating major sporting events.

Call and Post Publisher and legendary boxing promoter Don King has attended previous awards ceremonies and was scheduled to participate this year, but was not able to attend because he was traveling outside the country.

16th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards Finalists – WINNERS IN BOLD

High School Athlete of the Year presented by University Hospitals Sports Medicine

Esa Ahmad, Basketball, Shaker Heights High School

Alecia Farina, Gymnastics, Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School

Hallie Thome, Basketball, Chagrin Falls High School

Amateur Athlete of the Year

Tianna Bartoletta, USA Track and Field, Elyria

Emily Infeld, USA Track and Field, University Heights

Cleveland Baseball Federation Softball Team – 2015 RBI World Series Champion

Collegiate Athlete of the Year

Connor Cook, Football, Michigan State University, Hinckley

University of Mount Union Football Team

Nathan Tomasello, Wrestling, Ohio State University, Parma

Aaron White, Basketball, University of Iowa, Strongsville

Professional Athlete of the Year presented by FOX Sports Ohio

Michael Brantley, Cleveland Indians

Gary Barnidge, Cleveland Browns

LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

Cleveland sports broadcaster Jim Donovan was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Donovan has been the sports anchor at WKYC for 31 years and the radio play-by-play voice for the Cleveland Browns since 1991. In a special moment, broadcast partner Doug Dieken and Browns quarterback Josh McCown presented Donovan with the award.

The Cleveland Clinic Courage Award was presented to Westlake teenager Colin Teets by legendary boxing promotor Don King. Teets suffered a debilitating brain injury eight years ago while playing hockey. After numerous surgeries, having to be revived twice, and years of rehabilitation to learn basic motor functions, Colin returned to the ice last winter as a member of the Westlake High School varsity hockey team. He would go on to score a goal during a game at Quicken Loans Arena. Colin’s full story can be found at

Cleveland Indians’ Michael Brantley and Jason Kipnis awarded the Amateur Athlete of the Year award to the Cleveland Baseball Federation RBI Softball Team. During their acceptance speech, the team representatives were surprised by over a dozen other Indians’ players.

The Cleveland Cavaliers playoff run was named Horseshoe Casino Cleveland Best Moment in Cleveland Sports. Broadcasters Austin Carr, John Michael, and Rafael Hernandez Brito accepted the award on behalf of the Cavs.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page